Stan Lombardo & Judith Roitman

WHERE: Steinfeld Warehouse Community Arts Space

101 W 6th St, Tucson, Arizona 85701

WHEN: Sunday, February 15, 2020 at 7PM

$5 General / $3 Students / No one turned away

Poetry reading followed by Q&A
Light refreshments served
Handicap accessible / Accommodations available on request

JUDITH ROITMAN'S books are Roswell (theenk Books) and No Face: Selected and New Poems (First Intensity Press). Her chapbooks include The Boar King (Magnificent Field) Provisional (dancing girl press), Slackline (Hank’s Loose Gravel Press), Furnace Mountain (Omerta), Ku: a thumb book (Airfoil Press), and Two: ghazals (Horse Less Press). Most recently she has published in Horse Less Press, Talisman, YEW, Otoliths, Eleven Eleven, Futures Trading, Writing Disorder, E.ratio, Galataea Resurrects, Rogue Agent, december, the tiny, Equalize, DREGINALD. She lives in Lawrence KS.

STAN LOMBARDO is an American Classicist, and former professor of Classics at the University of Kansas. He is best known for his translations of the Iliad, the Odyssey, and the Aeneid (published by the Hackett Publishing Company). The style of his translations is a more vernacular one, emphasizing conversational English rather than the formal tone of some older American English translations of classical verse.Lombardo designs his translations to be performed orally, as they were in ancient Greece. He also performs the poems, and has recorded them as audio books. In performance he also likes to play the drums, much like Ezra Pound. Lombardo is a Zen master in the Kwan Um School of Zen.

Will Alexander & Denise Uyehara

WHERE: Steinfeld Warehouse Community Arts Space

101 W 6th St, Tucson, Arizona 85701

WHEN: Saturday, February 29, 2020 at 7PM

$5 General / $3 Students / No one turned away

Poetry reading followed by Q&A
Light refreshments served
Handicap accessible / Accommodations available on request

WILL ALEXANDER's poetry combines the surreal with an extra-terrestrial perspective on the relation of humans to mind and the cosmic environment, in the tradition of Sun Ra and Aime Cesaire. His perspective emerges from Africa and the Earth’s trans-oceanic rim. He is also a poet, essayist, novelist, philosopher, visual artist, as well as playwright. His myriad books include Vertical Rainbow Climber (1987), Asia & Haiti (1995), Above the Human Nerve Domain (1998), Towards the Primeval Lightning Field (1999), Exobiology as Goddess (2004), Sunrise Armageddon (2006), and The Sri Lankan Loxodrome (2009). A Whiting Fellow, a PEN Oakland National Book Award recipient, and the winner of the Jackson Poetry Prize for 2016. Will Alexander lives and works in Los Angeles.

DENISE UYEHARA is an award-winning, interdisciplinary performance artist, writer and playwright whose work has been presented across the U.S. and in London, Vancouver, Helsinki and Tokyo. For over two decades she has investigated what marks us in our migration across borders of identity through interdisciplinary performance. Uyehara’s work has been hailed as “powerful…intimate and elegiac” by the Los Angeles Times. She is a recent recipient of the MAP Fund, the National Performance Network Creation Fund and a fellowship from the Asian Cultural Council (see complete listing below). A founding member of the Sacred Naked Nature Girls, she conducts workshops for artists and a wide range of communities – LGBTQ, women, people of color – and is a frequent lecturer at colleges and universities. Her book Maps of City & Body: Shedding Light on the Performance and Process of Denise Uyehara (Kaya Press, 2004) documents her process.

See, Listen, and Help

Our events and projects depend on you. Support POG with a contribution, helping poetry and art illuminate the world.